top of page
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Summer Reading List

I read more in the summer than I do the rest of the year combined. From the longer days to afternoons spent poolside, I find myself drawn to reading as a past time unlike in other seasons. One of my favorite things to do is go to the library and wander through the best sellers section and just grab books that, well, grab me.

I get through about a book every two weeks and sprinkle in reading my Vogue as well. Here is what I have read this summer:

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

It is everything it is cracked up to be. This was on everyone’s reading list for the summer and it definitely deserved it! It starts a little slow with stories that don’t seem to fit together but they quickly start to come together. The character insight and twists and turns throughout the book make this worth checking out.

The dedication from Into the Water

The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines

I, like many Americans, am obsessed with Fixer Upper. The main reason I love the show is Chip and Joanna. This book dives into their love story and how they came to have their own tv show. I loved the writing style - Joanna writes a little, Chip reacts, and vice versa. It also feels very authentic and proves that they were not just handed this TV contract without working for it.

My (Not So) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

One of the books I hadn’t heard of before entering the library that just sort of caught my eye. And I am glad it did. It is set in London and other parts of England (which I love) and tells the tale of a young gal in marketing (hello, that’s me) and the ups and downs she has. There is love and humor, which is perfect for this rom-com fan. An easy, fun read!

The Hopefuls by Jennifer Close

Another book that caught my attention while I was browsing the best sellers section. This focuses on the political hungry of Washington and those around them. I could relate to this one, because I lived in D.C. for a year. Not the typical subject matter I would normally gravitate toward, but it ended up being pretty good.

The Decent Proposal by Kemper Donovan

Give this book a chance! It starts off and maintains its weirdness, but I ended up loving and needing more and more of the story. It’s set in L.A. and is almost a romantic mystery. While the subject is a little far fetched, the characters are relatable (in personality, perhaps not actions/life choices) and I really enjoyed it. A page turner that will keep you guessing until the end.

Clownfish Blues by Tim Dorsey

Quite honestly the weirdest book I have ever read, but I could not put it down. The characters were eccentric in a, somehow, likable way. The action kept the pages moving. The adventures kept me intrigued. Fun way be the wrong word, but it was a fun read. Oh and the whole thing keeps coming back to the Florida Lottery. Symbolism.

The Girls by Emma Cline

Not your average girl meets boy book. This is about a girl who becomes enchanted with another female and follows her into a cult only to be then influenced by a bunch of men. This is a novel that tells the normal narrative of women with an extreme spotlight. It's less about girl power and more about this is what girls go through everyday. It begins a little slow, but picks up quick and keeps you engaged throughout the whole book.

Still Me Book
bottom of page