top of page
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

RVA Eats: Dutch and Company

I took my boyfriend for a late Christmas celebration to Dutch and Company on Thursday night. It was both of our first times but we’d heard great things.

I confess I don’t get to Church Hill enough to enjoy the amazing restaurants and shops there, but Dutch and Co had been on my list for awhile so we made reservations and made the journey down Broad Street.

We were greeted by the cutest vintage feeling interior and seated immediately. It wasn’t too busy and we probably didn’t need reservations, but I like to make them anyway since it helps hold me accountable.

While we had both looked at the menu online we still needed some time to study it while we were there. We started with drinks. I got the Earl Grey Vieux Carree and Michael got the Sweater Weather. It was cold outside so these whisky drinks really hit the spot.

We chatted for a few minutes and then our Sub Rosa bread arrived. It was served simply with olive oil. One piece each, which I appreciated because I wasn’t trying to fill up on bread. Then we were served an amuse bouche. I love restaurants that do this. It’s such a special touch. Ours was an orange meringue with some sort of herb on top. (I wasn’t listening well when our waitress was explaining.) Whatever it was, it was truly delightful. It sort of just melted away in my mouth.

Dutch and Co offers a three course prix-fixe menu for $29.You get an appetizer, entree and dessert. We both decided to do that. After a bunch of hemming and hawing I finally was ready to order (all the choices looked amazing, it was hard to decide).

Our apps arrived. I got the perfect egg (which I had heard they are known for). Michael got the crab chowder. Wow. What a start. The perfect egg did not disappoint. It came with a side of cured salmon and was dressed with braised cabbage. I cleaned my plate. The crab chowder was also excellent. It was creamy and served with what Michael described as mini grilled cheeses (really it was shrimp toast). It was some of the best chowder I had ever tasted.

The main course arrived shortly after we finished our appetizers. I got the lamb of the day, which was a ground sausage. It’s not something I’d normally choose but I wanted to try something different. I was so happy with my decision. Served over a yogurt sauce and with turnip and squash, the dish was a home run. Michael got the seared fluke, a white fish. It was excellent! We both agreed some of the best fish we’d had in awhile. The sauce was an herb soubise and just perfect. We both cleaned our plates (again).

Dessert is not normally my favorite part of the meal. I’m more of a savory fan. And we were offered to have an extra app instead of dessert, which I think is pretty great. However, we both went for the dessert and were not disappointed. I got the honeypot which was literally served in a honeypot. It was a huge talking point. The couple next to us immediately wanted to know what was in it. It was a delicious panna cotta with a ginger snap crumbles! I was so happy. Michael went with the stroopwaffle and that was also so delicious. It was cinnamon and sugar goodness topped with vanilla bean ice cream.

We both really enjoyed our meals and the environment. My water glass was never empty (maybe almost a bit too much, but that’s okay). It looks like they have a great happy hour and I am certainly interested in going back to try more of their menu, which changes seasonally.

Still Me Book
bottom of page