top of page
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Restaurant Week: Fall 2017

Restaurant week, happening each April and October in Richmond, is always one of my favorites. Although rough on the wallet, it is so fun! I study the menus more than I studied for any test in college. (It’s fine I have a good job.) Picking from the amazing restaurants in RVA is literally the hardest part of this week.

The Boathouse

After much debate and looking for room for 6, we picked The Boathouse for the first night. I have certainly been here a ton, but I am never disappointed. It is a Richmond classic that offers a beautiful view of the city (if you go to the Rockett’s Landing location) and awesome food.

It was a gorgeous evening and I started with a glass of rose as we settled in to review the menu and ask the appropriate questions of our waiter. I settled on the oysters rockefeller, sirloin and cinnamon doughnuts.

If you have read my blog at all, you know I am all about raw oysters. I was a little hesitant to order these cooked oysters, but decided to give it a go. I was pleasantly surprised! I am not always a fan of this style of oysters, but The Boathouse nailed it. I could still taste the oysters, even with all the extras.

The sirloin was good, but what really stood out on the plate was the mashed potatoes. They were creamy and had just the right amount of butter and other smooth flavors. It was served with a side of broccoli for a well rounded entree.

For dessert, I got the cinnamon doughnuts. I would normally go for something chocolate, but that wasn’t an option, so doughnuts it was. I was so happy! They were amazing. I am not normally a huge dessert fan, but this may have been my favorite part of the meal. I shared around the table and everyone agreed they were delicious!

Rowland’s

Unfortunately I was super busy the week of Restaurant Week and only made it to two spots. Sunday was the last day I managed to make it to this gem of a Fan restaurant. We had a group of six and had an awesome time!

The waiter was lovely and brought us this amazing bread (honestly like 5 baskets of it) since we were starving when we arrived. (I know savages.) We ordered wine and got right into the ordering.

I got the seared yellow fin tuna, bolognese and chocolate cake. I also sampled the peking duck appetizer, shrimp entree and the steak pad thai. I thought everything was so excellent.

The tuna surprised me with how good it was. I would go back for that in an instant. The duck was lovely as well (although I love duck and knew it would be). The bolgnese was exactly has expected. It was definitely the dish I was looking for when I ordered it, nothing surprising. The steak pad thai was very interesting. I am glad I got to try a bite.

Finally the chocolate ganache torte. This was the chocolate dessert I had been searching for. Delicious. I was entirely too full by the time it arrived (darn break baskets), but made room for the whole thing, I think I forgot to share.

Once again Restaurant Week did not disappoint in the slightest.

Still Me Book
bottom of page