top of page
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

RVA Eats: The Paulie

I need to talk about one of the best sandwiches I have ever consumed. I went to The Paulie last week when I had a half day. The Paulie is a sandwich pop up located inside Comfort. It is only open Monday through Friday from 11 to 4 (according to their Facebook hours).

Because of these limited hours I had not been able to make it there yet, although I had heard great things. So on my first half day in a while I headed straight there. I found a parking spot and literally ran across Broad Street because I was so excited.

Once inside I realized I was unprepared. All the sandwiches looked so good. They split their menu between hot and cold. I couldn’t even decide between that when the cashier asked. She talked me through a few options and told me that most people start with their most popular - The Apollo. The Apollo is their version of the philly cheese steak. Never one to turn down a philly cheese steak I said I would take it.

After waiting only a few minutes my sandwich was ready. I had ordered it to go (I wanted to go home to my dog), but nearly ripped into it right there. I resisted and made the 10 minute drive home.

Once home I settled in. Wrapped in a foil blanket, it was still warm and smelled divine. I breathed a sigh of relief and then dug in. Holy moly. This thing was G-O-O-D. The meat was tender and dripping in tastiness. The cheese was more of a sauce than slices. It was truly excellent. I finished it off quickly and without regret.

My only fear is that I can’t go get all the other options. On my list of ones to try are The Adonis (meatball sub), Ivan Drago, Italian Stallion, Balboa, Duke...at this point I am listing the whole menu. Moral of the story, whenever you can get to The Paulie - go. Don’t think, just do it.

The Paulie

200 W Broad St (inside Comfort) Richmond, Virginia 23219

Still Me Book
bottom of page