top of page
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Weekly Update: June 17, 2018

It’s been two week of ups and downs for me. While I was able to go out with some friends earlier this week, my family got some sad news on Wednesday. My dear, sweet grandmother passed away. I went to Paoli, Pennsylvania for a few days celebrating her life and spending time with family. Now that I am back in Richmond, I actually need to start focusing on my move in July.

Where I've been fueling up:

River City Roll. My restaurant club group decided on the new bowling alley in Scott’s Addition. We went on a Monday and there were still a fair amount of groups. We were able to get a lane no problem though. We had some great drinks and a little food too. Definitely a fun experience!

Don’t Look Back. I popped in for a drink and to plan the next Ad Club happy hour at this awesome spot. I went a couple weeks ago and enjoyed the tacos. I have long been a fan of this place and am just so excited they are back slinging tacos.

Friday night started by checking out the new Fan hotspot - Pizza & Beer of Richmond aka PBR. It was packed, but we found out why. It was a fun environment with good drinks and good food (from what I hear, I didn't eat there). After that we went to Commercial Taphouse. It's a great little hole in the wall bar with the best beer options on Robinson. It's an easy place to sit back and chill.

Saturday was the Belmont Stakes. I went to Ponies & Pints in Shockoe Bottom with my sister and some of her friends. We placed a few bets and had a few bud lights. It's definitely a fun spot to spend a few hours. After that we headed to Continental Divide for a quick bite. We got some nachos, which were pretty good. We finished off our evening with drinks at a local favorite, Curbside.

Sister and I

On our way to PA, my sister and I stopped in D.C. for my global entry interview (I passed) and popped over to Georgetown for lunch. We went to Pizzeria Paradiso and enjoyed their special of the day, a roasted veggie pizza, and a wonderful antipasto app. Highly recommend if you are in the area!

After being on the road for a few days, I came back to an empty fridge. On Wednesday after work, my mom and I went up to the food truck court at St. Giles in their neighborhood and got the best burrito bowls from Arroz.

Sunday, of course, was Father’s Day, and I spent the day with my family. We got takeout from Stella’s Grocery for lunch. We picked up one of their premade sandwiches, lima bean salad (so good) and a few other goodies.

For dinner, we also did takeout, but this time from our favorite burger place, Jack Brown’s. I tried a new one for me the Danny Larusso. It was amazing (I normally get the Greg Brady, which I love). My burger had cream cheese and pepper jelly.

What I've been reading up on:

As a person who owns a Kate Spade bag in every size, shape and color, the news of her suicide came as quick a shock. I love these inspirational quotes Levo put together from her.

I saved this post ages ago on Facebook and just now got around to reading it. I love articles about people who travel to Richmond and discover how cool it is!

Another loss of someone I greatly respected. These are some great quotes from Anthony Bourdain over the years.

Since Kitchen Confidential is one of my favorite books this was another amazing article about Bourdain.

What else:

I’ve spent the week catching up on things I missed while I was away for a few days. I’ve been thinking about my Mom Mom and making sure I honor her everyday somehow.

So happy to meet this little angel!

Still Me Book
bottom of page